Author Topic: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS  (Read 40293 times)

karifuik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« on: November 12, 2010, 01:01:26 pm »
Hello

Its look like external linking with Interactivebrokers TWS dont work correctly.

Could you please help ?

Thanks

John

braddoubleu

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 453
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • Trade-Ideas
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2010, 09:27:00 am »
Linking with Interactive Brokers is not currently supported by the Trade-Ideas tools.

forca12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 12:09:51 pm »
Hi,
i am interested in this feature , too.
Regards

gktk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2011, 05:39:24 am »
yes likewise interested.

In addition to IB TWS I use a java based CFD broker similar to TWS and can link to their order window without a problem so assume it can be done.

heywally

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2011, 01:18:44 pm »
Interested ..... please. TY

othermbx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2011, 01:40:48 pm »
Me too...

cuckoonuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2011, 12:51:10 am »
I would also like to see this implemented!

othermbx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2011, 11:02:02 pm »
Hi, I was wondering if this is possible now -- I tried it several different ways with no luck but maybe I'm doing something wrong or maybe there's a trick to it.... ?

Thanks!

george1978

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2011, 02:32:21 pm »
I'm intersted in this too.

Please yell us if we need to download another version of TI Pro to get this implemented.

Barrie Einarson

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 610
  • Karma: +20/-1
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2011, 05:09:24 pm »
This may not work but there are 4 combinations of ways to link to a brokerage or charting program.  In the Set Up External Linking window, you will see that there are 2 boxes:  1. Beginning is cut off and 2. Alternate Method. 

1. Generally to establish a link, you don't have to check those boxes, you just drag the crosshairs to your program and the link is done.
2. Check Beginning is cut off and then drag the crosshairs
3. Check Alternate method and then drag the crosshairs
4. Check them both and then drag the crosshairs.

There are many charting programs out there - sometimes it's just a matter of trying the various combinations to see if you can establish a link. 

george1978

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2011, 04:03:13 am »
Thanks for the attempt to help bbruin.

Sadly, i'm pretty sure everyone has tried all those things already!

I can get it to work with TWS but not reliably so that I can trust it. Sometimes it works first time, sometimes after 20 mouse clicks, sometimes not at all.

Hopefully T-I will address this issue soon. I want to use TWS and T-I together and dump my E-Signal subscription.

G

george1978

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2011, 06:36:15 am »
Thanks for all the feedback.  We are enhancing our Generic Linking Tool in the next 60 days and we will do our best to get Interactive Brokers to successfully link to Trade-Ideas.

60 days are almost up. You should know by now if the TWS is to be included in the next release.

Sorry, i'm impateient. This is disrupting my trading.

George

george1978

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2011, 06:21:06 am »
I've almost solved this using a freeware program called Autohotkey. ;D   Will post it when i've finished it.

You can program the software to simulate mouse and keyboard actions etc to effectively do the job of the External Linking window manually.

I wonder how many new customers Trade-Ideas would get if IB, one of the largest Trading Brokers in America were on their list of compatible partners.  Seems strange that no one is really interested in this issue.


othermbx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2011, 02:50:16 pm »
George, the reality is that most serious traders who use IB don't use IB's graphics package, so I'm guessing it's not that big of an issue. Autohotkey is good, but Ghost Control is much better for what you're trying to do.

Thanks!

george1978

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Windows linking with Interactivebrokers TWS
« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2011, 03:37:09 pm »
maybe you're right.

It is because i am not yet a "serious" trader that i don't want to shell out hundreds of $ a month for charting software and L2 data, when my broker offers it for free.  TWS is an OK L2 and Charting package. Its not ESignal or Lightspeed i know.

I have been using E-Signal 11.2 and even that has problems with T-I at the moment.   Seems like this aspect of the software is a little neglected. It's not been touched at all in the latest round of updates but is one of the weakest parts of the software IMO.

I looked at Ghost Control, I found Autohotkey easier as it offers an input box window that i link with the TI crosshair as an intermediary to the IB charting software.

Will post my program for other "non-serious" traders as soon as it is ready.

Coop